Charleston, South Carolina: Day 5

The last day already? Wow that flew.

By now, I’m sure you guys see a pattern: gym, walk, breakfast, pool. This vacation was a lot different in the aspect that we didn’t have as much planned, wanted to relax and thats exactly what we did!

Friday was probably the hottest day all week, I only lasted in the sun for a couple hours, MAYBE. I sat underneath the shade near the snack bar with dad, and read a little (side note: A New Model by Ashley Graham was soooo good!!) And of course, since school never stops, I had to go in and take some notes. 2 hours later.. .mom and dad came up. I hate to admit it, but the sun took it out of us! We hung out in the room for a little, watched some TV, dad did some work, all that fun stuff.

Tavern and Table was the final dinner pick of the week. We looked into it, and the head chef there graduated from Le Cordon Bleu in Scottsdale, worked for Beau MacMillan, and battled Bobby Flay on Iron Chef and WON. Needless to say, we had to check it out!

We made reservations for 7pm, we of course got there a little early and went to their deck outside! Mom and I got a glass of prosecco ( I wanted something bubbly) and Dad ordered a Tito’s and lemonade. The restaurant was right on the water, so the view from the deck was awesome, and the atmosphere was fun! At this point it was almost 7:30 and we hadn’t been seated (Tavern and Table was a happening place!) and I was starving. We hadn’t eaten since 9 that morning and I was ready to collapse (okay maybe I’m being dramatic but still.)

We finally sat down and I was relieved. I was just happy to get something in my stomach. The Prosciutto and Fig Flatbread with whipped ricotta, balsamic onions, fontina, and arugula caught our eye. I took a bite and went to heaven. Everything about this pizza worked. The whipped ricotta was phenomenal and the figs were a sweet contrast.

I told myself that I wanted to eat shrimp and grits at least one time while I was down here, so it was now or never! Honestly, grits remind me of my all time favorite movie, My Cousin Vinny. “How do you like your grits? Regular, creamy, or aldente?” My answer is however Tavern and Table cooked them because wow were they delicious!  They were cheddar grits with spanish chorizo, cherry tomatoes, green onion, and moroccan sauce. To die for. Obviously, because “no self respecting southerner uses instant grits” (if you couldn’t tell, I know every line of that movie verbatim).

Mom got the Pan Seared Scallops with caramelized onion and bacon spaetzle, sun-dried tomatoes, fava, lemon caper butter. Anything with bacon and she’s on board. I had a bite and it was pretty dang good! Dad ordered the  Lobster Fra Diabolo, which was bucatini, red pepper flakes, roasted cherry tomatoes, lemon, and parsley. Dad really enjoyed it, he said he made a good choice!

We took a look at the dessert menu, but decided just to go back to the hotel for ice cream on the boardwalk ! I got a scoop of coffee and Mom got the cookie dough caramel. Both were great! I can’t pass up coffee flavored ice cream, its so good.

I had so much fun on vacation . Anytime I get to spend with my parents is always a good time. Im incredibly thankful that we get to do this together every summer and I look forward to where we pick for the next year!

Leave a Reply

