Social House 7

The tradition still stands, and it has come to be one of my favorites. I just wrapped up my third Christmas break, and of course, that means my back to school dinner in Pittsburgh

. Last year, we chose Casbah, the year before, Monterey Bay on Mt. Washington. This year, I chose Social House,  A big thanks to my best friend Maddy for recommending it! (She’s my go-to for everything Pittsburgh related ❤ )

Social House is a “Japanese izakaya-style restaurant”, which basically means meals are meant to be shared. Which honestly is perfect for us since my family eats off of each others plates anyway.. oops!

I loved the atmosphere as soon as we walked in. You could definitely tell it was new and trendy. There was a glass covered koi fish pond in the floor of the entrance.. enough said. (and I’m SO mad I didnt get a picture!)

img_8162img_8161

We took our time and really looked over the menu. There were so many options that looked interesting, we had a hard time picking just one… so we didnt! ! For appetizers, we ordered a few pieces of sushi, edamame, and edamame hummus. The hummus was definitely different than any i have had before, you could taste the soy beans and their texture really stuck out. The sushi was great, I expected no less.

img_8164 img_8163

For dinner, my mom picked out the Short Rib Yaki Noodles (because Sheila can’t pass up beef). They weren’t at all what I was expecting but, regardless they were to die for. My dad ordered a bowl of ramen. I was really excited that someone ordered it, because I’ve been wanting to try ramen for a while now, but I’ve been too scared. It was really good but I dont think I could have finished that big of a bowl! For me, I decided on the Bi Bim Bap and wow am I glad I did. Put an egg on top of anything and I’m sold!

img_8165 img_8167 img_8166

Our waitress came around to offer dessert.. and you think Im gonna say no?

We actually picked two treats to go with our coffee. First was the Japanese Cotten Cheesecake with Pineapple Lychee Sauce, Green Tea Powder, Charred Pineapple. This wasn’t your typical cheesecake. It wasn’t very sweet, but I loved the texture. I was dense but smooth. ( I looked up how to make it while we were eating 😉 ) The second dessert was our waitress’s recommendation,  the Egg Custard Steamed Buns with a Lemongrass and Orange Blossom Pastry Cream and Orange Glaze. Surprisingly amazing. As my mom said, they tasted like an Italian Christmas cookie, and she wasn’t wrong. They came in a covered basket ( between this and the ramen, the restaurant looked like something out of an anime LOL) and they were still hot when we got them, and they were incredibly soft.

img_8168 img_8169

100% would eat there again. I could have easily ordered one of everything on the menu, but thats what next time is  for! If you’re looking for a trendy restaurant in the heart of Pittsburgh, Social House is the way to go!

Leave a Reply

