Roasted Tomato and Feta Socca

socca

My dad always jokes that the only time he gets fed is when I’m home from school, because my mom wont cook for him. (which is totally untrue, for the record! I deff learned to cook from my momma!!) But now that I’m home for Christmas break, Im excited to be back in the kitchen, making meals, and trying new recipes.

And you can bet my dad had something lined up and waiting for me when I walked through those doors.

Enter Socca: basically a chickpea pancake! This dish is about as versatile as you can get. You can top it with anything your little heart desires. For our first go at this, I decided to stick with the recipe that my dad found in the Kroger magazine.

The chickpea can be store bought, or can easily be made by grinding dried garbanzo beans in the food processor!

Ingredients

for the Socca:

  • 1 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

toppings:

  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes; halved
  • 1 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt for topping

Directions:

  1. Mix chickpea flour, water, garlic and salt in a bowl and allow to sit for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Set oven to broil and allow to preheat.
  3. When preheated, place your cast iron skillet in the oven to heat up.
  4. When skillet is heated, take out and add olive oil, then the chickpea mixture. Put back into the oven and let cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven and preheat oven to 450.
  6. Top crust with tomatoes, feta, salt and olive oil and place back into oven; allow to cook until tomatoes begin to brown and release their juices, and the cheese starts to change color.
  7. Remove from oven, allow to rest for 2 minutes, then enjoy!

Not gonna lie, I was a little skeptical of how this was going to turn out but after one bite I was in love. The texture was almost like a polenta or a corn bread. Immediately, the dinner table burst into discussion on how we could make it next time.My only complaint was that the feta didn’t melt like I expected it to, but regardless. I suggested peppers, onions, mushrooms and mozzarella cheese!

I served this dish with roasted asparagus, butternut squash, and brussel sprouts 🙂

socca2

2 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato and Feta Socca

Leave a Reply

