Authentic Tiramisu Recipe

Three years ago, when I was visiting my family in Italy, my cousin Adrianna made the absolute most amazing tiramisu that I’ve ever tasted in my life for dessert one night. Jenna and I asked her for the recipe, and instead we got a lesson on how to make it!

tiramisutiramisu2

our hands on lesson 😉

In place of a written final for my Cultural Aspects of Food, Nutrition and Health class, we had to a presentation on a country of our choosing. Obviously I picked Italy. As part of the project, we had to prepare a dish that was a representation of that culture, and bring it in for the class to eat. I was at a loss on to make, only because when it comes to Italian food, there’s SO many options. I finally decided on tiramisu since 1) I love dessert 2) Its easy to make, and 3) its down right incredible!

ingredients

  • 5 egg yolks
  • 16 oz mascarpone cheese
  • 3/4 cup + 1 tbsp sugar
  • cold espresso (coffee works too!)
  • 1 box lady fingers (about 60 cookies)
  • cocoa powder for topping

Directions

Brew espresso and set aside to cool

espresso

Mix mascarpone with eggs and sugar until light yellow; be careful not to over mix

mascarpone

Dip lady fingers in espresso and place in pan

ladyfingers ladyfingerdipfirstlayer

Pour mascarpone mixture on top of lady fingers to cover

Sift cocoa powder on top of mascarpone

finisedtiramisu

Continue layering lady fingers, mascarpone and cocoa until pan is full, ending with cocoa powder. I got 2 layers out of this batch.

Cover and refrigerate for at 4 hours to overnight.

Like I said, this was part of my final project. My professor set up all of the food in the front of the room and everyone was welcome to take what they wanted. Everyone loved it! I had a bite and its still as good as the first time I tasted it! Theres a great balance of sweetness from the sugar and the tanginess of the mascarpone cheese. So thank you, Adrianna, for one of the best recipes I’ve ever had 🙂 tiramisu final

Leave a Reply

