my dorm room breakfast staples

Obviously breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and still by far my favorite. I need a good, filling meal in the morning to get me going and through my day. When I’m at school in my dorm, my resources are kinda limited for what I like to do [sorry, no pancakes in college 😦 ] So i have to make the best with what I have! I try to get a good balance of fiber, slow carbs and some protein. Thats how I function best, but of course, everyone is different. These recipes all use a lot of the same ingredients, so it saves space, and money too.  I thought Id share what works for me, and give you a healthier alternative to the pop tart or dining hall muffin thats just as fast, easy and delicious!

super speedy oatmeal

  • 1 packet plain instant oatmeal
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup almond milk + 1/4 cup water
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • almonds
  • raisins

I put my oatmeal in a paper bowl and top it with sliced bananas. Cover it with enough liquid to reach the consistency that you want, and then give it a little stir. Cook in the mircrowave for 2:30. Remove, add blueberries, and cook for another 20 seconds. When its done, top with cinnamon, some almond butter, almonds, and raisins!

oatmeal

go-to doctored up cereal

  • 3/4 cup shredded wheat n bran
  • 1/2 banana
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • raisins
  • almonds

when it comes to this cereal, i personally like to eat it when its soggy… gross sounding, I know, But you’re gonna have to trust me on this one and just try it! I put all the ingredients in a bowl and stir it around until the cereal soaks up the milk and the squares break apart. So good, i cant even explain it.

cereal

5 minute yogurt parfait

  • 6 oz plain greek yogurt
  • stevia+cinnamon
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • toppings:  raisins, cereal, granola, raisins

put it in a bowl: BAM. breakfast. Done.

IMG_4743

 

So if you’re struggling on what to eat in the mornings heading out the door for class, or before you hit the gym, try these quick fixes 🙂

Leave a Reply

