Spiced Pear Chia Yogurt

Because I start work at 8 AM, I find it way easier to just get my workout in before hand and then stay at the Y after for my shift. Since I don’t really feel like eating breakfast that early, I bring it to work with me! That usually means rather overnight oats or a yogurt parfait.

Well, after weeks of just the standard “berries and banana” combo, I needed a some change in my life, like ASAP. I was at a little bit of a loss, but I searched my fridge for some ingredients and inspiration

I pulled out a pear that I brought at a market stand in the Strip District on Thursday, and got an idea: Spiced Pear Yogurt. It was a perfect fix for my meal on the go

So this is how it goes –>

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pear, divided
  • 3/4 cup plain Greek, nonfat yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • cinnamon
  • allspice
  • ginger
  • sweetener (optional; I used a little stevia)

Optional toppings:

  • raisins/ crasins
  • walnuts (or any type of nut you want!!)
  • oats or granola

image

Directions: 

  1. Slice the half of your pear in half again. Take the 1/4 of the pear and dice.
  2. Place the diced pear in a small microwave bowl and heat for about 45 seconds in the microwave
  3. When they’re done, mash the pears until it resembles a sauce. Add in the chia seeds, spices, mix, and allow to cool.
  4. Meanwhile, layer your yogurt in your container and mix in sweetener if using)
  5. When your pear mixture is cooled, layer it onto the top of your yogurt
  6. Dice up remaining pear and place on top
  7. Add on additional toppings
  8. Place in refrigerator overnight!

I took a bite and my first thought was “wow Mons, you did good.” I didn’t even get the chance to snap a good pic thats how fast I ate!

image

The combination of the pear and all the spices really works together, and the chia seeds thicken up to form a thick, creamy texture. This once is definitely a keeper. I cant wait to try this technique with other fruits and flavors!

One thought on “Spiced Pear Chia Yogurt

Leave a Reply

