vegan adventure

Any trip to Pittsburgh is a good trip. To me it is anyway. We headed into Shadyside today which is personally one of my favorite parts of the city. Walnut Street has the best atmosphere, with all its little shops and outdoor cafes. And since the weather was absolutely gorgeous, everyone was out and about. I really just love it!

I needed to get my phone fixed after shattering the screen (third times a charm), but we wanted dinner first. I had heard about Eden and knew I wanted to try it. Eden is a vegan restaurant that uses local, organic ingredients. You can read about them here!

Since it was so warm, we ate outside on the patio and enjoyed it.IMG_3663

We started with the Mediterranean Platter. It had pumpkin seed and spinach hummus, carrot falafel, cucumber and tomato salad, flax pita, and almond cheese-stuffed dates with honey. The hummus and crackers were phenomenal! I had never thought of making hummus from pumpkin seeds but I’m definitely going to try it at home.IMG_3661

I also wanted to try a shot of wheatgrass… Ill admit, its an acquired taste! Honestly, I couldn’t finish it.. maybe one of these days! IMG_3662

So I was really hesitant to tell my mom that the restaurant was vegan because I knew she’d be completely against it. She’s 100% a burger and fries girl. But thankfully she was willing to humor me (you da best Sheila <3). She ordered the manicotti which had coconut noodles filled with almond ricotta, fresh spinach, and basil. Topped with sun-dried tomato marinara and cashew parmesan and actually liked it! She was totally intrigued by the whole “raw” concept. My mom is actually the cutest. IMG_3665

My dad tried the zongzi– bamboo leaves stuffed with red rice, zucchini, cauliflower, carrots, and chickpeas. It was by far the most interesting looking of our meals. I had to tell him that he wasn’t supposed to eat the bamboo leaves.. but I’m sure he would have figured it out after a bite 😉 IMG_3666

After a lot of back and forth, I decided on the mushroom dumplings that were stuffed with cashews, mushrooms, and spices, steamed with assorted vegetables and wilted greens and served in a coconut, ginger, and turmeric broth, then topped with pea shoots and fresh herbs. It was delicious. I still cant put my finger on exactly what it was, but the flavors were spot on. IMG_3669

When we were finished, we took a look at the dessert menu. My mom said she’s always wanted to try vegan cake after this one episode of Cupcake Wars that she saw a while back. So carrot cake it was! I was so refreshing and the perfect way to end our meal and our trip to Shadyside. IMG_3672

Leave a Reply

